About Us

Constructing Safety Leadership Awards

About the SCSA Awards

Each year the Saskatchewan Construction Safety Association (SCSA) acknowledges individuals and companies throughout Saskatchewan for efforts given to promote the SCSA's mission and vision. 

Mission - Promote safety within the construction environment and lead the development of a safety culture through education, consultancy, and building awareness toward safer communities.

Vision - SCSA is an important voice driving a business culture of physical and mental safety for all and the centre of excellence for construction safety training programs.

Winners and finalists benefit from peer recognition, professional achievement, and media exposure that they can use to self-promote as leaders in construction safety.

Awards Criteria


Corporate Leadership in Safety Award

The SCSA presents the Corporate Leadership in Safety Awards to a member company – in recognition of their dedication, outstanding contribution, commitment and leadership to support the SCSA's mission and vision to enhance health and safety in the workplace. 

Safety Leader Award

The SCSA presents the Safety Leader Award to an individual who shows leadership in the industry and is an employee of a member company. The award recognizes their dedication, leadership contributions, involvement in community activities, and commitment to advancing the mission and vision of the SCSA.

Safety Practitioner Award

The SCSA presents the Safety Practitioner Award to an individual who works in the field or office of a member company – recognizing their dedication, outstanding contribution, and commitment to safety and their embodiment of the SCSA's mission and vision to create a healthy and safe workplace.


Award nominees must be an SCSA member company or be employed by a member company.


Awards Committee and Selection Method

An award committee consisting of two members from the SCSA board of directors and a senior member of the SCSA operations leadership group review all nomination applications. A standardized evaluation scorecard is used to grade each application. These scorecards are then sent to a third party to select the winner and finalists of each category based on overall scores.

Award Finalists and Winners

Finalists and winners are notified by email. Winners are presented with an award and receive special acknowledgment in various SCSA marketing materials, including the SCSA Safety Advocate online magazine, the SCSA website and social media channels. Additionally, winners receive an SCSA promo package, press release template and custom logo for use in their marketing activities for one year. Finalists receive a plaque and a custom logo for their use in email signatures or marketing activities for one year.


2022 Winners

Corporate Leadership in Safety Award

Ledcor Construction Ltd.

Safety Practitioner Award

Amy Welder (Century West)

Safety Leader Award 

Katherine Leslie (miEnergy)


2021 Winners

View videos of past winners

Corporate Leadership in Safety Awards

Abco Elevator

Westridge Construction

Triple A Directional Drilling


Safety Practitioner Award

Danni Kohl (Flyer Electric) 


Safety Leader Award 

Corey Johnson (Flyer Electric)